K.K.'s Visit in the Ashram Brindavon

February 15 - March 16, 2006

In 2006, Krishna Kumar Shah, or K.K. for short, was invited by Sri Durgamayi Ma to visit the Ashram Brindavon here in Ulm and he lived here with Mataji’s students for four weeks. K.K. is one of Sri Neem Karoli Baba’s eldest devotees. He met Maharajji, our Satguru, for the first time at the age of five.

K.K. on his arrival in the ashram amongst a few of Mataji’s disciples

A slightly older cousin had taken him to the house of another family where a Baba, a saint, was staying, to receive His darshan and, above all, the sweet prasad from His hands. At the end of the darshan this Baba asked him where his parent’s house was. A little later Maharajji also came to K.K.’s family and blessed them with His presence. From then on K.K. dedicated his entire life to his Guru Sri Neem Karoli Baba.

Since 1971, when they had spent time together in India at Maharajji’s feet, Mataji and Vishnu Digambar – Mataji’s spiritual companion and husband – have been deeply connected to K.K. This visit had been planned for a long time. In February 2006 all obstacles had finally been cleared and the long-hoped for visit came true. K.K. wrote from India: „My greatest wish is, that we, Baba’s children, are all united under his divine umbrella.“

Mataji as a young woman following Baba.

viewBox="0 0 100 100" style="enable-background:new 0 0 100 100;" xml:space="preserve">

In the ashram everything was lovingly prepared for K.K.’s arrival. K.K. was received at Frankfurt airport on February 15th by Vishnu Digambar, his older son Bajarangi and Laxman, one of Mataji’s long-time disciples. At Mataji’s request, Kamallata had met K.K. at his home in Nainital in India and accompanied him to Germany. At the end of this long journey, having finally arrived in the Ashram, K.K. stood in the entrance hall for a while, overwhelmed like a child. We shared a moment of deep silence when he bowed before the puja with the pictures of his beloved Maharajji and Mataji.

K.K. honoured with a mala of flowers by Vishnu Digambar

It was Mataji’s great wish that a small diary be kept to preserve the precious moments of K.K.‘s visit. Reading these entries everything comes alive again as if it happened yesterday:

On the evening of the second day, after K.K. had recovered from the long and tiring journey, Vishnu Digambar takes him down to the temple where he is welcomed wholeheartedly with a mala in Mataji’s name. Vishnu Digambar now comes to the ashram almost every evening to visit K.K. They go back to their time with Baba and exchange memories and stories about Maharajji.

K.K. loves the little Baba Kutir and wishes that an aarti be held there. This wish is granted with great pleasure. Vishnu Digambar arranges a puja in front of the big picture of Baba and waves the aarti light. Then one of the old kirtan that Mataji and Vishnu Digambar brought from India is sung – Neem Karoli Maharaj, Jaya Satyaguru Bhagavan. K.K. listens enraptured and says: „It is like coming home – I can feel Maharajji here“.

The Baba kutir in the Ashram Brindavon

We spend lots of time singing kirtan with K.K. and everything in the ashram slows down a little, takes on a more Indian pace. K.K. keeps saying how he can feel Mataji’s selflessness and love for Her spiritual children and how much Mataji takes care of us all.

In the afternoon, we accompany K.K. on a visit to Vishnu Digambar in his practice for naturopathy and yoga – the Kashi Yoga Centre as it is called today. When K.K. sees the puja with the big picture of Baba and the kneeling Hanuman he exclaims with great joy: “Maharajji is everywhere! I can feel Him here as well.”

The Kashi Yoga Centre – prepared for a kirtan concert

One week after K.K.‘s arrival Mataji comes to the ashram accompanied by Vishnu Digambar. This is the first time that Mataji meets K.K. „This is a very, very, very special moment” are Mataji’s words during this first meeting as she shares this precious moment with us all and expresses in words how immeasurably Maharajji’s, Baba’s, love permeates us all.

When Mataji says goodbye later that evening K.K. has tears in his eyes and just sits in silence for a while. The next day he tells us that he was so deeply moved by the encounter – the darshan – with Mataji that he wants to share this overwhelming feeling with all human beings – this presence of Maharajji that he felt during Mataji’s darshan.
In MA’s darshan via telephone early next morning Mataji speaks about this very special encounter with K.K. giving us a higher view of him as the manifestation of a perfect devotee: „a true devotee is somebody who always and under all circumstances listens to his heart, who – even if he wanted to act differently – can’t do otherwise”.

K.K. amidst Mataji’s female students

The following weekend, we celebrate Shivaratri with K.K. in Mataji‘s presence, a very deep and heart-felt celebration. MA reads the verses of the last chapter of the Ashtavakra Gita „I am Shiva“ to us and also reads them in English for K.K. When it starts to snow heavily that evening K.K. says:

“This is Shivratri complete! In india we believe, that it is very auspicious when it is snowing after Shivratri because snowfall shows: it is really the abode of Shiva!“

Many of the female disciples are wearing an Indian sari for the festivities. K.K. is delighted and wishes to have a photo taken with them.

viewBox="0 0 100 100" style="enable-background:new 0 0 100 100;" xml:space="preserve">

During the next darshan with Mataji K.K. speaks to MA and Vishnu Digambar about travelling with Baba and how much he would like to visit the two other ashram with Mataji – Ayodhya in Berlin and Kainchi in Cologne. As the master cannot do otherwise than immediately fulfill a wish that comes straight from the heart, the trip is organized for the very next morning. Many students gather in both the ashram in joyous anticipation of K.K.‘s visit and the unexpected darshan with Mataji. On the trip back, MA’s bus is caught in a strong snow storm. Back in Brindavon K.K. gets out of the bus at 5 a.m. after a twelve-hour trip and says with sparkling eyes: “I have to tell you, it was just wonderful!”

One afternoon, Mataji comes to the ashram with Vishnu Digambar unexpectedly visiting K.K. in his room. This encounter touches a side of K.K. that makes him glow and overflow with happiness: „Such a joy to see MA and Vishnu Digambar! She gave me tea, let me drink out of Her cup – tears of joy. She invited me to come back in this ashram any time!”

The next day, Mataji begins Her Morning Darshan with these words: „You have to remember this day! This morning your MA doesn’t feel like saying the official words of greeting. This may be because at last somebody has recognized who I am. And who could that be? – K.K., of course, who sees his Baba in this MA!”

Scene from the Ramayana on Mataji’s Birthday

This year, we celebrate Mataji’s birthday in a divine way and the splendour of the celebration envelops us all. A veritable highlight is the performance of the Hanuman legend from the Ramayana, wonderfully staged by the students of the Durga Ensemble. Mataji is thrilled and asks us the next day what touched us the most. K.K. says that he had entered so deeply into the story and was so immersed that his mind became completely quiet.

After a darshan, a few female students interview K.K. in the presence of Mataji and Vishnu Digambar. K.K. is so thrilled by the encounter with MA that everything just flows out of him: how blessed and lucky we can count ourselves to be able to live in MA’s ashram – in the presence of Maharajji and the motherly teaching of Mataji who can truly lead people to God – which K.K. says he can really feel. K.K. reminds us that of the many people living in Germany alone, it is us who have found our way to Mataji and to this ashram – an immeasurable blessing for us all!

In the four weeks of his visit, K.K. told us many stories about his life with Baba. We sang the Hanuman Chalisa and kirtan with him and the satsang and celebrated aarti together every day. He patiently answered all our questions – it was an unbelievably rich and fulfilling time. His natural way of being in Mataji’s presence and his interacting with Her in complete ease gave us a much greater vision of Mataji: In the interview K.K. said, for example, “Take the case of Maharajji, He only needed a blanket and a dhoti. Sometimes He never took a meal the whole day, but people would come and they would ask so many questions. So the same is here, She is not doing anything for Herself, but when I saw so many people here, it was unbelievable for me because the greatest service, what I feel, is to bring human beings to God because the ultimate aim of this life is to reach the Ultimate Truth. So an ordinary person cannot do this! ”

On March 16th, we had to say good-bye to K.K. In Her morning darshan, Mataji expressed our sorrow about his return to India and reminded us that this farewell, like every farewell, is only of transient nature – as everything is only of transient nature. MA asked us to take K.K. – and everything he so openly talked about in the interview, what he experienced, saw and felt – deep into our hearts.

 

Sri Sri Sri 1008 Sri Baba Neem Karoli Santa Maharaj ki Jai!

Sri Gurumata Sri Ma Durgamayi ki Jai!


Interview with K.K.
K.K.’s Visit

K.K.'s Besuch im Ashram Brindavon

15. Februar - 16. März 2006

Im Jahr 2006 besuchte Krishna Kumar Shah, kurz K.K. genannt, auf Einladung von Sri Durgamayi Ma den Ashram Brindavon hier in Ulm und lebte für vier Wochen zusammen mit Mataji’s Schülern dort. K.K. ist einer der langjährigsten Schüler von Sri Neem Karoli Baba – er begegnete Maharajji, unserem Satguru, im Alter von fünf Jahren zum ersten Mal.

K.K. bei seiner Ankunft im Ashram im Kreise einiger Ashramschüler

Ein etwas älterer Cousin hatte ihn in das Haus einer anderen Familie mitgenommen, in der sich ein Baba, ein Heiliger, aufhielt, um dessen Darshan und vor allem das süße Prasad aus Seinen Händen zu bekommen. Am Ende des Darshan fragte Baba, wo denn das Haus seiner Eltern sei. Wenig später kam Er auch zu K.K.’s Familie und segnete sie durch Seine Anwesenheit. Sein ganzes Leben hat K.K. von da an seinem Guru Sri Neem Karoli Baba gewidmet.

Seit ihrer gemeinsamen Zeit 1971 in Indien zu Maharajji’s Füßen sind Mataji und Vishnu Digambar – Mataji’s spiritueller Weggefährte und Ehemann – K.K. tief verbunden. Lange war dieser Besuch geplant, im Februar 2006 waren endlich alle Hindernisse überwunden und der langersehnte Besuch wurde Wirklichkeit. K.K. schrieb aus Indien: „Mein großer Wunsch ist, dass wir, Baba’s Kinder, alle unter Seinem göttlichen Schirm vereint sind.“

Mataji geht hinter Sri Neem Karoli Baba

viewBox="0 0 100 100" style="enable-background:new 0 0 100 100;" xml:space="preserve">

Im Ashram wurde alles sehr liebevoll für K.K.’s Kommen vorbereitet. Vishnu Digambar, sein älterer Sohn Bajarangi und Laxman, ein langjähriger Schüler von Mataji, holten ihn am 15. Februar am Frankfurter Flughafen ab. Kamallata hatte K.K. auf Mataji’s Bitte hin zu Hause in Nainital in Indien abgeholt und nach Deutschland begleitet. Als alle endlich im Ashram Brindavon ankommen, steht K.K. wie ein Kind im Eingang. Es ist ein Moment tiefer Stille und Bewegtheit, als er sich vor dem Bild von Maharajji und Mataji verneigt.

K.K. wurde zur Begrüßung mit einer Mala geschmückt – neben ihm steht Vishnu Digambar

Mataji hatte sich sehr gewünscht, dass während K.K.’s Besuchs ein kleines Tagebuch geführt wird. So konnten viele der kostbaren Momente festgehalten werden. Wenn man darin liest, wird alles wieder lebendig, als wäre es gestern gewesen:

Am Abend des zweiten Tages ist K.K. nach der langen und anstrengenden Reise soweit ausgeruht, dass Vishnu Digambar ihn in den Tempel führen kann, wo er in Mataji’s Namen mit einer Mala von ganzem Herzen begrüßt wird. Vishnu Digambar kommt nun fast jeden Abend in den Ashram, um K.K. zu besuchen. Sie tauchen ein in ihre Zeit mit Baba und tauschen ihre Erlebnisse und Geschichten über Ihn aus.

K.K. liebt das kleine Baba Kutir und wünscht sich eine Aarti dort. Dieser Wunsch wird ihm gerne erfüllt. Vishnu Digambar macht eine Puja vor dem großen Bild von Baba und schwenkt dazu das Aartilicht. Danach wird einer der alten Kirtan angestimmt, die Mataji und Vishnu Digambar aus Indien mitgebracht haben – Neem Karoli Maharaj, Jaya Satyaguru Bhagavan. K.K. lauscht ganz innig und sagt: „Es ist wie nach Hause kommen – ich kann Maharajji hier fühlen.“

Das Baba Kutir im Ashram Brindavon

Wir singen ganz viel Kirtan mit K.K. und alles im Ashram geht einen etwas langsameren, mehr indischen Gang. K.K. bringt immer wieder zum Ausdruck, wie sehr er die Selbstlosigkeit und Liebe von Mataji zu ihren spirituellen Kindern spürt und wie sehr Mataji für uns alle sorgt.
Am Nachmittag besuchen wir mit K.K. Vishnu Digambar in der von ihm ins Leben gerufenen Praxis für Naturheilkunde und Yoga – dem heutigen Kashi-Yogazentrum. Als K.K. die Puja mit dem großen Bild von Baba und dem knienden Hanuman sieht, verkündet er voller Freude: „Maharajji ist überall, auch hier ist Er spürbar.“

Das Kashi Yogazentrum – vorbereitet für ein Kirtankonzert

Eine Woche nach seiner Ankunft kommt Mataji in Begleitung von Vishnu Digambar in den Ashram. An diesem Abend begegnet K.K. Mataji zum ersten Mal. „Dies ist ein sehr, sehr, sehr besonderer Augenblick“, sind Mataji’s Worte in dieser ersten Begegnung, als sie mit uns allen diesen kostbaren Moment teilt und für uns in Worte fasst, wie unermesslich Maharajji’s, Baba’s Liebe uns alle durchdringt.

Als Mataji sich später verabschiedet, hat K.K. Tränen in den Augen und sitzt für eine Weile ganz still da. Am nächsten Tag erzählt er, dass er von der Begegnung – dem Darshan – mit Mataji so tief berührt war, dass er dieses überwältigende Gefühl, diese Präsenz von Maharajji, die er beim Darshan gespürt hat, mit allen Menschen teilen möchte.

In MA’s Morgendarshan am Telefon früh am nächsten Morgen spricht Mataji noch einmal über diese besondere Begegnung mit K.K. und eröffnet uns eine höhere Sicht auf ihn, als die Manifestation des vollkommenen Schülers: „Ein wahrer Devotee ist jemand, der immer und unter allen Bedingungen auf sein Herz hört, der – selbst wenn er anders wollte – nicht anders kann.“

K.K. inmitten von Mataji’s Schülerinnen

Am darauffolgenden Wochenende feiern wir in Mataji’s Gegenwart ein inniges Shivaratri-Fest mit K.K. MA liest uns die Verse aus dem letzten Kapitel der Ashtavakra-Gita „Ich bin Shiva“ vor und liest sie für K.K. auch auf Englisch. Als es am Abend unaufhörlich schneit, sagt K.K. begeistert: „Jetzt ist Shivaratri ganz und gar vollkommen. In Indien glauben wir, dass Schneefall nach Shivaratri beweist, dass dies wirklich Shivas göttlicher Wohnsitz ist!“
Viele der Schülerinnen sind zum Fest indisch gekleidet und tragen einen Sari, was K.K. so sehr gefällt, dass er sich ein Foto mit ihnen wünscht.

viewBox="0 0 100 100" style="enable-background:new 0 0 100 100;" xml:space="preserve">

Beim nächsten Darshan, den K.K. mit Mataji hat, spricht er zu MA und Vishnu Digambar über das Reisen mit Baba und wie gerne er mit Mataji die beiden anderen Ashram – Ayodhya in Berlin und Kainchi in Köln – besuchen würde. Da der Meister nicht anders kann, als einen von Herzen kommenden Wunsch umgehend zu erfüllen, geht die Reise gleich am nächsten Morgen los. In beiden Ashram haben sich viele Schüler versammelt, sie freuen sich über K.K.’s Besuch und den unerwarteten Darshan. Auf der Rückreise gerät der MA-Bus in ein tiefes Schneegestöber. Mit leuchtenden Augen steigt K.K. um 5 Uhr morgens nach zwölfstündiger Fahrt mit Mataji aus dem Bus und sagt: „Ich muss euch allen sagen: es war einfach wunderbar!“

An einem Nachmittag kommt Mataji überraschend mit Vishnu Digambar in den Ashram und besucht K.K. in seinem Zimmer. Diese Begegnung bringt in K.K. eine Seite zum klingen, die ihn strahlend und überfließend erzählen lässt: „Es war eine solche Freude, MA und Vishnu Digambar zu sehen! Sie hat mir Tee gegeben, mich aus ihrer Tasse trinken lassen und vor Freude kamen mir Tränen, als sie mich eingeladen hat, diesen Ashram jederzeit wieder zu besuchen!“

Am folgenden Tag beginnt Mataji den Morgendarshan mit den Worten: „Diesen Tag müsst ihr euch merken… Heute Morgen hat eure MA keine Lust auf offizielle Begrüßungsformeln. Das mag damit zusammenhängen, dass mich endlich einer erkannt hat. Wer könnte das wohl sein? Natürlich der K.K., der fühlt seinen Baba in dieser MA!“

Szene der Ramayana an Mataji’s Geburtstag

Mataji’s Geburtstag wird in diesem Jahr mit einem göttlichen Fest gefeiert, dessen Glanz uns alle umhüllt. Ein wahres Highlight ist die Aufführung der Hanuman-Geschichte aus dem Ramayana, die von den Schülern im Durga Ensemble auf wunderbare Weise inszeniert worden ist. Mataji ist begeistert und fragt uns am nächsten Tag, was uns am meisten berührt hat. K.K. erzählt, dass er so sehr in die Geschichte eingetaucht und versunken war, dass sein Verstand aufgehört hat zu arbeiten.

Im Anschluss an einen Darshan führen einige Schülerinnen ein Interview mit K.K. in der Gegenwart von Mataji, auch Vishnu Digambar ist dabei. K.K. ist so erfüllt von der Begegnung mit MA, dass es aus ihm nur so heraussprudelt: Wie gesegnet und glücklich wir uns schätzen können, in MA’s Ashram leben zu dürfen – in der Präsenz von Maharajji und mit den mütterlichen Unterweisungen von Mataji, die – und das meint K.K. deutlich zu fühlen – Menschen wirklich zu Gott führen kann. K.K. erinnert uns daran, wie viele Menschen es allein in Deutschland gibt, und von all diesen sind wir es, die den Weg in den Ashram gefunden haben – ein unermesslicher Segen für uns alle!

In den vier Wochen seines Besuchs hat K.K. uns viele Geschichten aus seinem Leben mit Baba erzählt. Wir haben mit ihm und dem Satsang täglich die Hanuman Chalisa und Kirtan gesungen und die Aarti gefeiert, geduldig hat er all unsere Fragen beantwortet – es war eine unglaublich reiche und erfüllte Zeit. Sein natürliches Sein in Mataji´s Gegenwart, sein vertrauter Umgang mit einem lebenden Meister hat uns einen viel größeren Blick auf Mataji ermöglicht. Zum Beispiel sagt K.K. im Interview: „Der größte Dienst, den man tun kann, ist, Menschen zu Gott zu bringen. Es ist das Ziel des Lebens, zu der höchsten Wahrheit zu finden. … Baba hat manchmal den ganzen Tag nicht gegessen, weil so viele Menschen so viele Fragen an Ihn hatten. Das Gleiche ist mit MA hier. Es war unglaublich für mich. Ein gewöhnlicher Mensch kann das nicht tun. Jemand wie MA oder Baba braucht nichts für sich selbst, sie sind einfach nur für die anderen da.“

Am 16. März müssen wir uns von K.K. verabschieden. Im Morgendarshan bringt Mataji zum Ausdruck, dass wir alle traurig sind, dass er wieder nach Indien zurückfliegt und erinnert uns auch daran, dass dieser Abschied, wie jeder Abschied, nur vorübergehender Natur ist – so wie alles nur vorübergehender Natur ist. MA bittet uns, K.K. tief in unser Herz zu nehmen – und auch all das, was er im Interview so offen angesprochen, was er erlebt, gesehen und gefühlt hat.

 

Sri Sri Sri 1008 Sri Baba Neem Karoli Santa Maharaj ki Jai!

Sri Gurumata Sri Ma Durgamayi ki Jai!


Zum Interview mit K.K.
K.K.’s Besuch im Ashram